top of page
Zoeken
  • Klaas Vandendriessche

Journey to Cambridge

Hello everybody, welcome to my blog! This is my first post, so obviously it is going to be about my journey to the United Kingdom. I have decided to take the Eurostar to arrive here: a journey of almost 6 hours starting from my home (Wevelgem, West-Flanders) and ending in Cambridge.


I have ordered all my train tickets in advance on the internet, so I didn’t have to worry about this during my travel.


My journey started at the train station of Kortrijk. I had to get to a station where the Eurostar stops, the closest one was the international train station Lille Europe in France. After a train ride of about 40 minutes, I reached Lille Flanders. After a short stroll to Lille Europe (the station is situated next to Lille Flanders), I boarded the Eurostar at 9:30 am.




The most annoying part of the Eurostar is that you have to be there at least one hour beforehand (just as is the case with airports). The train itself was luxurious and very comfortable. I reached London at 11:15 am (10:15 am UK time).




For practical reasons, I will from now on always use the English Greenwich time zone for the rest of my blog, instead of the European central time.


After the journey under the Channel and after having arrived in London St. Pancras International, my next objective was finding a train with destination Cambridge. I found one in the train station next to St. Pancras, called Kings Cross. This station is one of the oldest and largest of the entire country. The station is like a maze. I was capable in getting the fastest direct train to Cambridge, with a travel time of only 44 minutes.

16 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page