top of page
Zoeken
  • Klaas Vandendriessche

Report of week 2

During the second week of my traineeship, I mainly focused on creating the synteny map of PsaObe. Mapping the scaffolds on the chromosomes on PsaObe is more difficult compared to the synteny map of AcoCah. After running into some difficulties with ordering the scaffolds in certain chromosomes, I consulted a colleague that specializes in FISH karyograms. He pointed out that the genome assembly used to create the scaffolds is incorrect for certain areas. Next week I’m planning to fix these wrong scaffolds by means of PacBio optical mapping.


Below you can find an image of PsaObe (full name is Psammomys obesus). The common name used for this species is the fat sand rat.



2 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Final progress report

The last weeks of my traineeship at EMBL-EBI basically consisted of fixing some (often hidden) bugs and making some minor improvements to the output of the scripts. During my last full working week I

bottom of page